Ball Valve with Drain/Vent and Mounting Bracket

Ball Valve with Drain/Vent and Mounting Bracket is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 37.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_39739, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sharkbite
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getAggregateRating, 118.91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Information

The SharkBite ball valve with drain/vent and mounting bracket is designed to be fully mountable for stability and allows water to be drained for the lines through the drain/vent if desired.

Approvals

IAPMO/ANSI Z1157

NSF/ANSI 61

NSF 372

SizesPart #
1/2"
24615-0000LF
3/4"
24616-0000LF
1"
24617-0000LF

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installed great, no problems Worked great, no problems...wish the product were carried in the store in lieu of mail ordering and waiting for it....staff say it woud sell very well off teh shelf
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These shark bite style connectors are the real deal. I needed this valve for a long run of pipe t... These shark bite style connectors are the real deal. I needed this valve for a long run of pipe that goes over to an outside wall, up to the main floor, then around the outside of a closet to the laundry room. Obviously, running water through an outside wall behind an unheated space is asking for trouble. I need to be able to turn off the water and drain the line if the temperature outside drops below 10 degrees F. This fixture is super easy to install and doesn't leak at all. With the drain integral to the valve, you don't need to add a drain valve (just make sure you install it in the right direction!) and with the ears you can secure it to a joist to steady it for when you turn the valve. Sweet! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised & easy to install I used the Shark-bite shut off valve w/ waste to replace the Shark Bite slip T coupler & pressure gauge configuration, I used to verify the pressure while adjusting a water pressure regulator. Because it's basically the same length & gives me the ability to shut off water & drain line with 1 product.
Date published: 2014-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest replacement you can make These Sharke Bite Push to Connect ball valves are the easiest replacement you can make to any current old shutoff valve. Follow the written or video instructions and you will become the “expert” plumber in no time. No more dripping solder, burning studs or joists, no more burning your fingers, no more time waste draining existing pipes and allowing to dry. I installed this valve for a shutoff valve of an existing exterior hose bib which was located just above my main service. I was able to easily disconnect the pipe on the house side of the meter, then unsolder the existing old gate valve. I then just slipped this valve into place starting at the top, then working down towards the meter. Took less than 10 minutes and I have NO LEAKS. This valve comes with a removal tool which comes in handy for a re-do or removal. I use nothing but Shark Bite products these days as they are cost efficient and save time for repairs or even new work. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will never have to solder copper pipe again. Sharkbite products are outstanding (pricey - yes... I will never have to solder copper pipe again. Sharkbite products are outstanding (pricey - yes). If you are looking for a sure proof way to reconnect copper pipe without messing with having to solder, then this is the product for you. That said - I had to order this item from Home Depot and it took the better part of 2 weeks to get it to the store. So if you are in a hurry, you might want to check for these else where. HD does have a large array of Sharkbite products, so you might find what you need at HD.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to install. Easy to install and solved my problem. No leaks, no drips, and no sweating pipes. Very fast delivery thru Home Depot.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install value with drain The SharkBite ½ inch ball value with drop ear is designed to work with Copper, PEX, CPVC, and PE-RT half inch OD diameter pipe. It is an easy connect system, you measure and cut the pipe to length, leaving enough extra length of pipe to fit inside each connection (about an inch), and slip the connector on both ends of the pipe. You can easily rotate the valve on the pipe when the value is installed, and it can be removed using the SharkBite removal tool (a few bucks) to either reposition or reuse the value. I love these fittings as they eliminate the need to solder copper pipe, and can be used to change pipe materials without any additional adaptors. The value comes with built in PEX sleeves to provide rigidity, and the sleeves do not have to be removed if you use the fittings with copper pipe (although you can remove them with needle nose plyers). I’m using this value in addition to a ¾ inch to ½ inch tee to tie into an existing copper water line and run PEX pipe to a new outdoor faucet. I wanted a shut off value and this does the trick. Having the drop ear provides a solid way to mount the value, and having a drain port with cap built into the side of the value allows me to drain the line in the winter. Ball valve works smoothly. I am a big fan of SharkBite products, and this valve did not disappoint. The ease of use and convenience to install these fittings saves times and aggravation, and in my opinion is well worth the cost over a copper fitting you need to solder. I have never had a leak issue, and the fittings are suitable for potable water supply and meet most building codes. Value is rated for 200 psi and is lead free. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SharkBite Drain Valve Truck bite valves are great! All I had to do is cut the old one out with a mini hacksaw right on the edges of the old valve. Sandown the edges of the pipe to make it real smooth. Push the new shark bite on starting with the top line and then push it onto the bottom line. Turn on the water and you are set. No leaks.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This valve is fine, but I didn't really need the drop ears and drain. But the local store didn't... This valve is fine, but I didn't really need the drop ears and drain. But the local store didn't have the plain (and less xpensive) model on hand. Didn't even seem to be a place on shelf for the "regular" ball valve, so I guess why stock two when you can force purchase of the more expensive model.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the greatest inventions since sliced bread. A... One of the greatest inventions since sliced bread. A little expensive but I’ve used them many times. Pex to copper, Copper to copper, pex to pex, and pvc. I’ve had occasion to use all combinations of tubing. NEVER had a leak. I recommend them highly
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These things are awesome. I have very little to no plumbing experience. I watched a youtube vi... These things are awesome. I have very little to no plumbing experience. I watched a youtube video and it was really easy. Just make sure the valve is in the correct position otherwise it will not connect.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you Thank you - Excellent product! Thought I was in for a nightmare repair in a tight spot. Finished in 10 minutes thanks to SharkBite. Back to sweet dreams.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great. I previously bought and installed a different brand,... Worked great. I previously bought and installed a different brand, and it leaked. This valve was a much higher quality and it installed leak free
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Makes plumbing jobs quick and easy. I have used sharkbite fittings on two home plumbing projects so far worked great,no leaks.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked exactly as described - just prep the cooper pipe... Worked exactly as described - just prep the cooper pipe with the Sharkbite tool and push the valve on. NO leaks !
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did not connect right away, it kept hitting the plastic insert. The insert can be removed. No lea... Did not connect right away, it kept hitting the plastic insert. The insert can be removed. No leaks so far.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only place I could get it. I already use shark bites and know what they do. Home Depot had the best price for this item.
Date published: 2014-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does the job. Just pay attention to the direction of flow for the drain to work. It does the job. Just pay attention to the direction of flow for the drain to work.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to install, no leaks when done. shuts water off completely. Very easy to install, no leaks when done. shuts water off completely.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Easy to install and reasonable cost. Great product! Easy to install and reasonable cost.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shark bite parts a 1 hour job into a 5... Shark bite parts a 1 hour job into a 5 minute job.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great part at the best price around!... Great part at the best price around!
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy connection, no leaks, no fuss.... Easy connection, no leaks, no fuss.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use worth the extra money... Easy to use worth the extra money
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked just as advertised.... Worked just as advertised.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peazy lemon squeezy... Easy peazy lemon squeezy
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use ... Easy to use
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent... Excellent
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great, but Expensive! Even though expensive, I must say I'm impressed with the quality of this product and the SharkBite brand overall. After lots of online research and in-store hands-on inspection, I chose SharkBite fittings for a DIY project to replace a leaking water pressure tank along with its 50-yr old, corroded galvanized piping. I replaced the galvanized pipes with copper and used various 1' and 3/4' SharkBite fittings (threaded male adapters, elbows, slip tee, and ball valve, etc). Installation was simple, easy and not one connection has leaked since the install one month ago. I found most fittings in stock at my local HD but had to order the ball valve with drain and a couple of others. It took about a week or so to arrive and the only (minor) complaint I have is the ball valve fitting didn't include the plastic insert which comes with all SharkBite fittings and is necessary to use when connecting to PEX piping. Fortunately I didn't need it for this particular fitting as it was a copper to copper connection. Otherwise I would have had spend more time following up with HD to get it. It seems most professional plumbers and experienced DIYers will tell you to use copper when practical and sweat the fittings. It's much, much cheaper and has a long and proven history. That is true, but I thought I would try push-connect compression fittings this time since this was not a behind-the-wall application thus allowing me to easily observe for leakage over time. I'm hoping this project will help inform plumbing decisions on my future renovation projects. I believe most DIYers with little or no plumbing experience can easily install these fittings provided they properly follow installation instructions (general instructions come with fitting but I found the best instructions were on the manufacturer's website and plumbing DIYers on Youtube!!!). The down side is cost...SharkBite fittings are very expensive (e.g., one 90 degree elbow: copper sweat--80 cents vs SharkBite ~$10). Next time, if I have time and sufficient access to safely sweat the fittings, I will more likely chose that route because of cost and known reliability. But if the repair or renovation project is in a tight, difficult spot or time is of essence (i.e., emergency repair) then I wouldn't hesitate for a second to choose Sharkbite fittings for the job. Bottom line is SharkBite fittings appear to be well-made using quality material, easy to install, and seem to be reliable. However, they are expensive and only time will tell if these fittings are worth the costs. Good luck on your project!
Date published: 2015-10-06
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_39739, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sharkbite
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 9.71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions

I can’t get the 1/2 valve to fit on 1/2 cpvc. The pex stiffener is to tight on the inside diameter of the cove pipe. Can I remove the pex stiffener and still use the shark bite valve?

Asked by: Ben S
Hello, SharkBite push-to-connect fittings are approved for use with CPVC pipe conforming to standard ASTM D2846 and/or CSA B137.6. The PEX stiffeners will fit into any CPVC conforming to this standard but are not necessary and can be removed when using this kind of pipe. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2018-05-10

What is the recommended way to use the drain/vent to drain the water line after shutting it off?

Asked by: DanB1957
Hello, Removing the threaded drain/vent cap will allow water to drain from the valve. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-12-29

Does sharkbite have a valve that will drain only one side of a pipe? I wish to keep my water on and only drain a section that suseptible to freezing.

Asked by: Jordan89
Hello, The ball valves in the links below feature a drain on one side. These ball valves allow you to drain the pipe on the side with the drain when the valve is turned to the off position. http://www.sharkbite.com/product/ball-valves-with-drainvent/ http://www.sharkbite.com/product/ball-valve-drainvent-mounting-bracket/ Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-12-28

How to install

Asked by: Nathaniel
Hello, Please see the installation instructions for SharkBite push-to-connect products in the link below. http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/SB_InstallationInstructions_2017_FINAL.pdf Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-12-29

What fitting connects to the 1/2 inch ball valve drain to connect a hose

Asked by: Ernest1
Hello, We do not manufacture a fitting that connects to the the drain port on these particular ball vavles. The thread type on the drain port is 1/8" NPSM. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-12-08

Is this valve suitable to use as an isolation valve for a coil in a hot water heating system permanently?

Asked by: Erik D
Hello, SharkBite push-to-connect fittings and valves are approved for use in potable water and radiant/hydronic heating applications. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-11-20

Does this connector work with pex piping?

Asked by: Lars T
Hello, This ball valve is suitable for use with PEX tubing. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-09-29

I am having difficulty getting the fitting to release. It will not release and I had to cut the pipe. Do you have a solution?

Asked by: Douglas T
Hello, To remove SharkBite push-to-connect fittings please refer to page 3 of the instructions in the link below. http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/SB_InstallationInstructions_2017_FINAL.pdf Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-09-29

How do I stop a slow leak around the valve stem? Thus is the second ball valve shut off that has failed.

Asked by: Richard Caldwell
Good morning, We are not aware of an issue with our ball valves leaking. Please reach out to our customer service team so we can gather more information and see what options we have to resolve your issues. You can reach them at 1-877-700-4242 between 8 am - 6 pm est Monday through Friday or at techsupport@cashacme.com.
Answered by: SharkBite_KM
Date published: 2017-08-23

Made a mistake. Used a sharkbite on brass pipe I now have a slow drip at the connection. Is there anything I can do stop the drop?

Asked by: Peter O
Good morning, No. You will need to remove the fitting and use a appropriate fitting for Brass pipe.
Answered by: SharkBite_KM
Date published: 2017-08-20

Can the valve be opened and used to blow out water for freeze protection?

Asked by: AdamT
Hello, The drain on this ball valve may be used to remove water so it does not freeze. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-07-11

Do you have instructions on the steps to install an inline ball valve used for shut off? Is there a pdf that can be sent to me?

Asked by: Dennisc
Hello, Please see the link below for installation instructions. http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/SB_InstallationInstructions_2017_FINAL.pdf Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-05-13

shark bite ball valve can be a permanent or temporary installations?

Asked by: alonso
Good morning, We manufacturer our fittings to be used as permanent fittings. All our products have a 25 year warranty and we expect them to last well pass their warrantied date.
Answered by: SharkBite_KM
Date published: 2017-08-17

Is this valve rated to 200 degrees F ?

Asked by: JB1988
Hello, This valve is rated to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-04-03

Can I use it to connect copper line coming into house as a main stop ?Instead of a corporation fitting and a ball valve old school style. Our city doesn t allow us to solder the valve in.

Asked by: Glenn
Hello, SharkBite push-to-connect ball valves are perfectly suitable for use on the main line coming into the house. We do always recommend checking your local code for approval. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-03-07

Can this type of connector be used on a galvanized water feed from a town line line before the meter the town has to have with check valve on it

Asked by: Randy123
Hello, SharkBite push-to-connect fittings can not be used with galvanized pipe. Thank you
Answered by: SharkBite118
Date published: 2017-03-06
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_39739, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sharkbite
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 64.66ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Related Products